Take a Picture, It’ll Last Longer

10 Jan

I finally found my digital camera! It’s currently charging at home, but I can safely promise that this will be the last post without real pictures.

My university classes start up again next week, but until them I’m working full time at my on campus research job. I’ve been in this laboratory for over a year now and I love it — the professor in charge is dedicated to his work and very kind to his students and all of the other researchers (both undergraduate and graduate) are awesome people.

The one drawback? I do work with mice.

My PI did give me the option to opt out of the mouse research when I first started at the lab, but after weighing the pros and cons, I did decide to choose the research project he’d created for me. The research protocols we follow are humane and carefully monitored, and much of our research is geared towards finding medications to treat Rheumatoid Arthritis and to find ways of making wound healing faster to lessen the pain and discomfort on surgery patients. I feel that it is a truly worthy cause.

Some people don’t understand how I can be a vegetarian and work with mice, but I tell them the truth — I do what I can to prevent my mice from suffering or experiencing any discomfort, and in return, I don’t contribute any business to the meat industry. I know it doesn’t make perfect sense, but I feel good about my decision.

Kind of a heavy post, so I’ll leave you with a happy thought:

‎”Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be cumbered with your old nonsense.” – Emerson

One Response to “Take a Picture, It’ll Last Longer”

  1. Katie January 11, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    I love your last quote, about life moving on and every day being a fresh start. It’s my philosophy, too!

Leave a Reply

